30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know

image30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know

#Invisibleillnessweek #IIWK15 #MyinvisibleFight

1. The illness I live with is: Rheumatoid Arthritis,Fibromyalgia,Polymyalgia Rheumatica,General Anxiety Disorder,Agoraphobia,Social Phobia,Migraines,TMJ Disorder, I also have Hypertension and GORD.

2. I was diagnosed with it in the year:
1987 (Migraines)
1996 (Anxiety Disorder but have had the anxiety since childhood),Social Phobia diagnosed but had since childhood and Agoraphobia)
2012(RA)
2013 (Fibromyalgia and Hypertension
(2014  GORD and TMJ)

3. But I had symptoms since:1987 (Migraines)2010(RA and Fibro)

4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: Not being able to once do what I used to and struggling day to day with tasks and taking Medications.

5. Most people assume: That I look well but truth is i’m not but I still say thanks and take it as a compliment because they aren’t to know that’s why I am an Advocate to make these diseases visible. #MyinvisibleFight #InvisibleIllness

6. The hardest part about mornings are: Moving and still being fatigued throughout the day.

7. My favorite medical TV show is: House

8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: My Ipod classic cause it fits thousands of songs on it and helps me to relax. Problem is though I can’t turn my music up loud because loud music is a trigger for my migraines #Phonophobic #photophobic

9. The hardest part about nights are: Getting enough sleep or getting to sleep #Thestruggleisreal #Fatigued

10. Each day I take many pills & vitamins  including Chemo meds that I have to take for the rest of my life unless a cure is one day found. Once a month I also have an infusion Treatment called #Actemra(No comments, please)#Methotrexate #ChronicIllness

11. Regarding alternative treatments I have tried with regards to diets or different approaches to eating.

12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: Visible because at least you may not be doubted not having to choose at all would be even better cause some days a pure hell.

13. Regarding working and career: I am on Disability may be able to work from home doing either health Advocacy or photography.

14. People would be surprised to know: I like to spend alot of time on my own or maybe that’s not so suprising I don’t know..

15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: The constant Fatigue and daily chronic pain.

16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: Reach out to others because of my life long Anxiety but I am super proud of myself for doing so I have really come a long way.

17. Advertisements about my illness always: portray that once u take meds you could basically run a marathon so not true though and it really upsets the community that’s for sure.

18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: Doing more activities with my nieces

19. It was really hard to have to give up: My studies in IT and Web Design. Cognitive issues have been a big issue and was unable to continue.

20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: Card Making crafts and Adult coloring

21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: Dance like nobody is watching and get my fitness on.

22. My illness has taught me: That I have to live in the moment because no day is the same especially when it’s chronic.

23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: You only go online to be part of the pity train and enough is enough. It’s so not true I just believe that we all need to support each other in our times of need and if we did the world would make for a better place that’s why I created United Advocacy.

24. But I love it when people: Show support and care about each others causes because together we can all make a difference no need for judgement.

25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: Together we can make a difference.

26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: You are not alone I’m here for you if u ever need to talk.

27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: The amount of people who have connected with me and the new friendships I have made.

28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: let me sleep

29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: I was chosen by a lovely lady by the name of Lisa Copen who added me as part of a top squad invisible Illness group of Advocates 🙂

30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: Special and loved because you took the time to care.

Let me know you read this to the end via my Facebook page http://facebook.com/unitedadvocacy

Leave a Reply

